Sheryl's Blog

Wikipedia versus Encyclopedia

Posted on: June 16, 2009

OK … I am definitely the most biased member of my group regarding Wikipedia.  I attended a lecture given by the librarian of my daughter’s elementary school about 2 years ago cautioning parents against their children using Wikipedia as a resource for class.  Because of this lecture, I tend to steer clear of this site and I’ve never really compared it as a potential source. 

There is no doubt that this site is extremely easy to use and you will access information immediately.  I’ve tried to help my kids use the school’s online enclyclopedias and they are screamably frustrating.  In fact, you have to have the password to even use these sites and the passwords change each month! 

Wikipedia’s entry on “Geraniums” gave a far more comprehensive write up on these plants, as well as over 8 pictures on the first 3 pages of information, versus the 1 picture and 3 paragraphs of the hard bound Enclycopedia we used as a comparison.  Is this too much information for my 12 year old who wants to write about this plant?  Probably not.   But I do think it would be overwhelming for my 8 year old.  Plus, the language is for adults.  I’ll have to check out the Wikipedia for kids … is it edited as often?  This is a whole new world for me that I will need to explore.

Leave a comment

Calendar

June 2009
M T W T F S S
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930