Sheryl's Blog

Archive for June 11th, 2009

Here is a video that we watched in Levy’s class on writing.  I love this clip because my daughters are totally sold on the idea that a thesaurus needs to be used in order for your paper to sound “smarter.”

I also recently read Stephen King’s On Writing where he says, basically, don’t dress up your words … they will be like household pets in costume – so embarrassed!

Baby massage

Baby massage

Let’s find a fun image that I can add.  I’m about to attend my only sister’s first baby shower.  She is due in October with a baby boy – our first boy in the family in a very long time.  His name will be Charles Gray White – Charlie.

Time for my next first.  I’m going to create a highlighted link (sorry, a hyperlink) that will take you somewhere else on the web (do you like how I am drawn to oversimplification?)  I attended a conference last summer at Davidson College, my alma mater, and we wrote essays based on the radio series “This I Believe.”  These are the types of essays we’ve been talking about in Eng 7741.  You could also check out the This I Believe website to find out more about the popular 1950s series that has become popular again in the last 10 or so years.  This would be a great jumping off point for student writing.


Calendar

June 2009
M T W T F S S
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930